Skip to content ↓

Germander Park Learning Skills.

 Our Curriculum has been reviewed to ensure our intent, implementation and impact are clear and that learning ensures a change to long term memory. Our aim is to ensure that our children experience a wide breadth of study and have by the end of Key Stage 1  a long term memory of an ambitious body of procedural and semantic knowledge. Cultural capital gives our children the vital background knowledge required to be informed and thoughtful members of our community who understand and believe in British values.

 In addition at Germander Park we have eight learning skills which support and enhance the statutory curriculum that is offered. 

The learning skills are progressive and build on previous skills learnt. The skills are planned to develop children who are resilient, confident, lifelong learners.

  • Application / Risk taking
  • Collaboration
  • Communication
  • Creative skills
  • Enquiry and investigation
  • Independence
  • Personal and Social skills
  • Reflection and Evaluation

Our curriculum also has the 11 school values at its heart.

The Foundation Stage Curriculum

At the heart of the foundation stage curriculum lay the Characteristics of Effective Learning. The Characteristics of Effective learning support the development of the unique child, how the child engages with other people and their environment, they underpin learning and development across all seven areas of the curriculum and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.

Characteristics of Effective Learning

Playing and exploring – engagement

  • Finding out and exploring
  • Playing with what they know
  • Being willing to ‘have a go’

Active learning – motivation

  • Being involved and concentrating
  • Keeping trying
  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

Creating and thinking critically – thinking

  • Having their own ideas
  • Making links
  • Choosing ways to do things

The Curriculum also contains seven areas of learning and development. All areas are important, interconnected and accessed through play.

There are three prime areas that are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These areas are:

Communication and Language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a language rich environment, to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical development involves providing opportunities to be active, interactive and to develop their co-ordination, control and movement. Children are also help to understand the importance of physical activity and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, Social and Emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves and others, to form positive relationships and develop respect for others, to develop social skills, learn to manage their feelings and understand appropriate behaviour in groups and to have confidence in their own abilities.

There are also four specific areas, through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied. These are:

Literacy development involves encouraging children to link letters to sounds and to begin to read and write. Children are given access to a wide range of reading materials to ignite their interest.

Maths involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems and to describe shapes, spaces and measures.

Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through giving them the opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play and design and technology.

National Curriculum Key Stage 1 (years one and two for children aged 5 - 7)

The Key Stage 1 Curriculum builds upon the core knowledge learnt in the Foundation Stage.  The curriculum is carefully planned to enable all children to become literate, numerate independent learners. Children may be taught as a whole class, in small groups or individually as appropriate to the subject content.

We believe in a broad and balanced curriculum which promotes all aspects of children’s development; spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical. We use a thematic approach and organise the teaching of the separate subjects around a particular topic in order that children can develop the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need. This approach enables us to range beyond the core knowledge and provide an exciting and creative curriculum with real links between subject and knowledge ensuring that we can make children`s learning both challenging and rewarding.

Teachers plan for the following subjects;

Core Subjects

English, Phonics is taught using the Letters and Sounds programme of study.



Foundation Subjects

Art and Design


Design and Technology




Physical Education

All schools are also required to teach Religious Education. As a school we follow the Milton Keynes Syllabus 2017.

Information regarding the topic taught each term can be found in the curriculum newsletters on each class’s home page. These show the subject coverage over the year. 

The teachers use a Knowledge and Skills Curriculum document to sequence learning across the school.